top of page

The First of many projects..


At university I found my passion for producing and aim to become an established producer in the future. This isn't going to be an easy journey but my determination will allow me to get to the top. From a very young age I have always been fascinated by Television. My mum constantly struggled to get me away from the TV screen for dinner, I would watch anything and everything! It wasn't until I was in sixth form where I really discovered my passion for the production of Television. I had the chance to learn for the first time what goes into making television, from pre production all the way to how it is distributed on different streaming and viewing platforms. Of course my knowledge widened unimaginable amounts when studying Television and Broadcasting at university, however it was a great start to begin my passion for TV. I've always viewed working on TV as a job where you make thousands of people smile. This is why I most probably enjoy light entertainment comedy, the likes of Gogglebox and Big Brother always put a smile on my face. In my opinion I believe the most successful type of TV is reality TV like Gogglebox, due to the content not only being effortlessly funny but also so relatable. There's something about watching people watching TV, it naturally becomes so comical due to it being an activity that most people do… we relate! People love TV because it truly allows someone to feel overwhelming passion and emotion, something that is essential in life. I've always wanted to make people happy in my own creative way, so with this being said, I began my crazy journey in becoming someone who is ready and raring to get into the industry.

When I first arrived at university clueless wasn't even the word. I came to the first course session not knowing how to even turn on a camera let alone produce a vt or present live for a show. I vividly remember my first production class, where we all began to ‘learn the ropes.’ When asked what the eye cup was on a Sony FX70 I proceeded to use it as a chin strip, hilarious I know!! I remember all my coursemates giggling, It almost helped people relax, it was good to know that not everyone knew what they were doing from day one. Looking back it really does highlight the amount I have learnt over the course of three years, you'll be happy to know I did not attempt to use an eye cap as a chin strap ever again.

A highlight of my first year studies was creating an individual ten minute live show produced by yours truly. This project was created at the end of our academic year making it the perfect chance to show what we had learnt throughout the year. If you told me I was going to be able to create and present a live show all by myself, beginning of the year Esme would’ve laughed. However, after learning the amount that I did over the course of the year, I was so proud with the finished product. I created a show called “Comin’ out the closest,” where I presented a show all about LGBTQ topics. The show included live segments, VT’s and graphics, all of which I learnt and developed across the year. This was my first time presenting anything live and it was an amazing experience where I feel I excelled in. This task allowed me to demonstrate my producing skills. I developed an idea based on my audience, I wanted it to be targeted at young people, especially students. It's no secret that uni students experiment and truly “find themselves” at university, therefore expressing the freedom of sexualtiy as the topic was a fresh and relevant idea. I wanted the show to be presented and visualised in a fun and relaxing manner, something I portrayed due to myself presenting. Comparing these first year projects emphasises my growth in not only technical skills but confidence within myself. I came to university not knowing how to turn a camera and I ended the first academic year with a high first in a show I individually created

Me Presenting my live show.

bottom of page